United Nations Office at Geneva

**STAFF UNION** 



Office des Nations Unies à Genève

SYNDICAT

# 41<sup>st</sup> Staff Union Council 2023-2024

### **Minutes of the 1<sup>st</sup> meeting** held on 27 February 2023 at 1 p.m. via MS Teams

Adopted on ...

Draft

Ref. SU-41-1

**Council members present:** ABDELLAOUI Naima; APOSTOLOV Mario; BALI Mohamed; CHANTREL Dominique; DUPARC Philippe; GAZIYEV Jamshidbek; GOLOGUS Marius; GONZALEZ Pablo (Deputy Executive Secretary); HERMELINK Ursula; JACQUIOT Cédric; JAUHAN Khanam; JOHNSON Laura (Executive Secretary); LA PLANETA Jean-Luc; LEWIS-LETTINGTON Nicole; MARTINEZ Begoña; NWOKEABIA Hilary; PALAIRET Rowland; PECK ARIF Catherine; PEJCHAL Viera; PUHALOVIC Janet; RICHARDS Ian (President); RUEDA Almudena; SMITH Bradford (Vice-president).

Council members absent: AJAYI Ayobamidele; TOUALBIA Radouan.

The meeting began at 1:10 p.m.

Mr. Astrit Sulstarova as President of the polling officers opened the meeting. He called the names of the elected Council members, asking if they were willing to integrate the 41<sup>st</sup> Staff Union Council, to which all members present answered positively and the two absent members would send written confirmations.

#### 1. Election of the President

Mohamed Bali nominated Ian Richards for President. Seeing no other candidates, **Ian Richards** was elected President without opposition.

#### 2. Election of the Vice-President

Nicole Lewis-Lettington nominated Bradford Smith for Vice-President. Seeing no other candidates, **Bradford Smith** was elected Vice-President without opposition.

#### 3. Designation of one Executive Bureau member per eligible list

- **EB seat Nº 1:** Following the nomination by Hilary Nwokeabia from the Unison list, **Naima Abdellaoui** was designated as Executive Bureau member.
- **EB seat Nº 2:** Following the nomination by Cedric Jacquiot from the Hope Team list, **Laura Johnson** was designated as Executive Bureau member.

#### 4. Election of the Executive Bureau

- **EB seat N° 3:** Nicole Lewis-Lettington nominated Ursula Hermelink. Seeing no other candidates, **Ursula Hermelink** was elected as member of the Executive Bureau without opposition.
- **EB seat N° 4:** Nicole Lewis-Lettington nominated Mohamed Bali. Seeing no other candidates, **Mohamed Bali** was elected as member of the Executive Bureau without opposition.
- **EB seat N° 5:** Pablo Gonzalez nominated Begoña Martinez. Seeing no other candidates, **Begoña Martinez** was elected as member of the Executive Bureau without opposition.
- **EB seat N° 6:** Bradford Smith nominated Philippe Duparc. Seeing no other candidates, **Philippe Duparc** was elected as member of the Executive Bureau without opposition.
- **EB seat N° 7:** Nicole Lewis-Lettington nominated Pablo Gonzalez. Seeing no other candidates, **Pablo Gonzalez** was elected as member of the Executive Bureau without opposition.

## 5. Election of the Executive Secretary

Bradford Smith nominated Laura Johnson for Executive Secretary. Seeing no other candidates, Laura Johnson was elected as Executive Secretary.

-----

The Council expressed great thanks to the members of the Polling Board for their assistance.

The meeting was adjourned at 1:35 p.m.