The 40th Council of the UNOG Staff Union (2022-2023) was elected in March 2022 for a period of one year. Its membership is as follows:


Ian Richards (President)
Ursula Hermelink (Vice-President)

Council meetings are be presided over by the President or, in his/her absence, by the Vice-President. Both officeholders are entitled to attend the meetings of the Executive Bureau and support the latter in its mandate to represent the Council.

Executive Bureau:

Bradford Smith (Executive Secretary)
Mohamed Bali (Deputy Executive Secretary)
Prisca Chaoui
Naima Abdellaoui
Prisca Chaoui
Philippe Duparc
Laura Johnson
Olivier Meyer

The Executive Bureau acts as the Council’s executive. It implements the decisions of the Council and represents it before management and other bodies. It meets on a weekly basis. It is headed by the Executive Secretary and the Deputy Executive Secretary. The President and Vice-President are non-voting members of the Bureau.

Other members of the 40th Council:

Mohamed Assi
Dominique Chantrel

Helene Fabiani
Jamshid Gaziyev
Jean-Luc La Planeta
Nicole Lewis-Lettington
Dan Lin
Begona Martinez Alfonso
Hilary Nwokeabia
Rowland Palairet
Catherine Louise Peck Arif
Viera Pejchal
Gerald Pioda
Maria Almudena Rueda Melendez
Philip Thomas
Radouan Toualbia

Release for staff representation functions

Staff representation is considered as official business. To this end, members of the Council are entitled to the following release for staff representational functions (as per General Assembly resolution A/C.5/50/64):

  • Executive Secretary and Deputy Executive Secretary: up to 100 percent.
  • President, Vice-President, Executive Bureau members: up to 32 hours a month.
  • Other members of the Council: 10 hours a month.